Compliments are Good

I would like to take a minute to thank the student at my school who told me today that I looked like I had lost a lot of weight.

I was at the grocery store after jogging (???) on the elliptical, lifting weights, and using the recumbent bicycle- so pretty much I was a mess.  I used to care about how I looked at the grocery store, but when gas prices went over $4.00 I decided that no one really cared what I was wearing in the grocery store- even sweaty gym clothes- and I now enjoy only taking one trip and conserving my precious gas.  Of course, this means that I always run into someone I know, usually a student, parent, or co-worker.  It was nice to receive a compliment when I was looking like a mess, instead of having to have a polite discussion while attempting to hide my sweat marks.

Sadly, this compliment is more than I received from my family at Easter.  I was really excited to show off my new look (and size) to my mom’s family on Easter.  I hadn’t seen any of them since the first of the year, so I was hoping for a few compliments to make my day a little better.  Instead, I got nothing.  My aunt and I discussed Weight Watchers a little (she has been on it for a while and knew what I was up to and had supported me online) and I told a few people that I had been on the program, but no one said anything about my progress.  I was disappointed.  I know that if I had gained even a third of what I had lost they would talk about it behind my back, so why the hard time complimenting my work?  I guess I can’t let it get to me, but really- the rule to never comment on a person’s weight should really only apply to a gain in weight.  Please, by all means, congratulate me on my progress.

I’ve been doing pretty well with weight watchers.  I have lost 23 lbs with WW, which makes a total of 32lbs since the first of the year.  Lately, I’ve been lazy with my workouts, so my goal for the month of May is to work out at least 5 times a week.  I realize that this may be difficult (especially since my grad classes start up again next week, not to mention all the extra school stuff that comes with graduation- class night, prom, etc.) but I feel like it’s a good goal.  Now to decide what my prize will be if/when I succeed.

2 thoughts on “Compliments are Good

  1. Unfortunately, I haven’t seen you so I can’t compliment your looks. But based on what you say you have lost, CONGRATS!!!! I would love to lose that much! Who cares what your family does or doesn’t say, you are the only one who matters!

    • Thanks Kara! You are right that I shouldn’t let it get to me, but it does anyway. Hopefully by time you guys are up here for your brother’s wedding I’ll have lost another 20lbs or so. Let’s hope I can keep this up 😉

Leave a comment