The big 3-0

Tomorrow is my 30th birthday.  I’m not really sure what that is supposed to mean, other than it’s another birthday.   I know that it seems somewhat popular to freak out about the end of your 20s, but in fact, I’m excited to start a new decade of my life.  This summer has been a summer heavy with decisions, but I feel like I’ve made the right choices so far and am headed down the correct path.

I finished my master’s degree in April, accomplishing one of the major life goals I had set for myself.  One of the reasons I wanted to finish my degree was so that I could find a new job and move.  I applied for a lot of jobs in Texas, near my best friend, and a few in a bigger cities in Michigan.  I never heard back from the schools in Michigan, but Texas seemed to love me this summer.  The first school to make an offer was not a good fit for me, and when I interviewed and visited, I told myself that I didn’t want the job because the school wasn’t right, but when the second school offered me a job, and it was a fantastic school, I freaked out.  I gave myself some time, but eventually came to the conclusion that I really didn’t want to leave everything I had established for myself behind to start over in a town where I knew a handful of people.  I’ve done that before, and it didn’t go so well.  Yes, it would undoubtedly be different this time, but it would still be me, mostly on my own, starting again from zero.  I made the decision (and have stood by it through several more interview offers) to be happy with what I have.

I already have an amazing career and work for a fantastic school.  And I should, since I spent my entire 20s focusing on that career and proving myself to my bosses, the parents, and most importantly the students.  I’m kind of tired of focusing on work, so this summer I haven’t.  For the first time in 5 years, I’m not taking classes, I stopped job hunting, and I focused on spending time reconnecting with my local friends and with my family, and it has definitely been the best summer I’ve had in a long time.  I’ve been babysitting my adorable goddaughter and her sweet baby brother once a week, I’ve helped a friend fix up her backyard, I’m playing tennis with any students who show up one night a week, and I’ve spent time just talking to the people I enjoy being around.  

Just another Wednesday with two of my favorite people.

Just another Wednesday with two of my favorite people.

The bar Laura, Lisa, and I built for Laura's patio.

The bar Laura, Lisa, and I built for Laura’s patio.

So if this is what turning 30 is all about, I’m in.  I like where my life is headed at the moment.  Yes, I thought that I would be moving and starting a new job this summer, but that’s not what life had in store for me at the moment.  So what are my goals for my 30s?  Well, I would like to save up and buy a house in the next few years, and I am ridiculously excited for all the projects that will come along with a house of my own.  Other than that, I want to keep making time for a social life outside of work.  Whatever my 30s bring, I’m looking forward to new adventures, so no freak-outs here.  Just smiles and looking forward to some great times.

1 thought on “The big 3-0

  1. Andie,
    Turning 30 simply means you have reached adulthood. Sounds like you’ve got your head together and understand that the grass is not always greener on the other side. Family & friends are extremely important as you have learned from your past moves. Celebrate your accomplishments and decide to be happy.

    Happy Birthday!
    Netsy

Leave a comment