Leaving on a Jet Plane

In a few short hours I will be boarding a plane and heading “home” to Michigan.  It’s funny how the trip back to Michigan always feels like going home.  I guess after spending 27 years there, it’s only fair.  There are so many things that I’m looking forward to once I get home.  I can’t wait to see my family and catch up on the past year.  I need to spend some quality time with the friends that I’ve left behind and see how much their children have grown.  I also need to find where I fit in that world once again.Image

I’ve been planning this move since October, but only in the last few months have I really begun to realize what it will mean.  I am moving home, literally.  Right now the plan is to move back into my parents’ home.  I have come to really enjoy my freedom and independence, and so I’m not really sure how this move will affect me.  My parents, brother, and I will have to work together to find something that makes us all happy.  I also will be lacking some of that independence due to a lack of a vehicle.  I sold my car this week (since it would probably not survive the trip cross country) and won’t be able to replace it until I have a job…assuming I get a job.  I also will be living on an incredibly tight budget until I get a job.

In moving 1800 miles, I will also be leaving behind some amazing friends.  This year has been one of the most difficult of my life, and without my friends I would never have survived.  Even though I have had one disaster on top of the next (at least that’s how it felt), they were there for me.  I am so grateful to the wonderful people I met here.  I could not have asked for a better department, and I’m truly going to miss our Friday “meetings” and crazy lunches.  I have so many amazing memories from this year.

Image

There are so many reasons that I’m heading home, and although there is a lot to miss here in Arizona, I don’t feel like it’s where I belong, if there even is such a place.  So I guess I’m home bound and I’ll figure out the next step when I come to it.

Leave a comment